Switch to Russian
About the NEA
Expert Councils
Individual Members
Collective Members
Association Board
Executive Council
Trustee Council

To the History of the New Economic Association

The New Economic Association (NEA) has as its predecessor the Association of Economic Scientific Institutions (AESI) established in 1956, which became member of International Economic Association in the same year. Presidents of the AESI were Tigran Khachaturov, Abel Aganbegyan and Oleg Bogomolov, who is currently Honorary President of the NEA. In 1992 the 10th World Congress of the International Economic Association was held in Moscow, and the AESI was the congress local organizer.

In 2009 the foundation of the NEA was initiated by academic institutions, previously members of AESI. Victor Polterovich was elected President of the New Economic Association; Valery Makarov, Nikolai Petrakov and Ruslan Grinberg were elected Vice-Presidents. Ruslan Grinberg also acts as Chairman of the NEA Executive Council.

In 2014 Ruslan Grinberg was elected President of the New Economic Association, Alexander Auzan was elected Chairman of the NEA Executive Council. Victor Polterovich was elected Honorary NEA President.

In 2022 Mikhail Golovnin was elected President of the New Economic Association, Alexander Auzan was elected Chairman of the NEA Executive Council. Ruslan Grinberg and Victor Polterovich were elected Honorary NEA President.

Currently the NEA unites 28 collective members: 11 institutes of Russian Academy of Sciences, 1 research institutes outside of the Academy, 16 higher educational establishments. Besides, the membership of the NEA includes over 450 individual participants from more than 45 cities of Russia.


The key NEA objectives are as follows:

  • consolidation of economists representing diverse research schools all over the Russian Federation; strengthening ties among academic institutions, educational establishments and economic research centers;

  • improvement of the Russian economic research and education; integration of economic science and education; enhancing integration of the Russian economic science into the stream of the world economic research.


The key areas of the NEA activities:

  • publishing the Journal of the New Economic Association (JNEA);

  • organizing and holding regular congresses of NEA (every three years);

  • organizing and holding thematic conferences, seminars and round tables;

  • creation of Expert Councils on Economic Reforms, Education, etc.;

  • participation in international associations and in international research projects.


In 2009-2023 sixty issues of JNEA were published.

In 2009-2023 NEA and the Journal of NEA held (in some cases - jointly with other organizations) five Russian Economic Congresses, First All-Russian Congress on Econophysics, International Symposium on Evolutionary Economics, 25 research conferences and 54 round tables on the wide range of economic problems.

In particular, NEA held the Russian Economic Congress (REC) in December 2009. Over 2,000 economists from academic institutions, higher educational establishments, and independent research centers took part in the REC-2009 activities. They came from 71 cities of Russia and 31 foreign cities. Approximately 1,300 papers were presented. Youth conference, which gathered about 400 participants, was held within the framework of REC.

At the first annual thematic conference of NEA "Education, Science and Modernization" (in December 2010) 198 presentations were done. The conference gathered above 400 participants from 46 cities of Russia and other countries.

In September 2010, the NEA Expert Council on Economic Reforms was established. Grigory Yavlinsky was elected Council Chairman.

NEA is a member of the International Economic Association.


For further information on NEA activities please visit:






New Economic Association